top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbbie Davies

(Emote)ional Creator


During summer 2020 when we were in lockdown I was told about a website called Twitch.tv. Twitch is where millions of people can chat with each other while watching people stream various things like just chatting, arts and crafts, gaming etc.


Similar to youtube you can subscribe to your favourite creators but you do have to pay. With the paid subscription you are able to unlock little characters for that specific streamer and show your support. Many creators hire designers to create their emotes as they are unable to make them themselves. When I got into twitch.tv and realised this I hopes that one day I would get the opportunity to make some for my favourite streamers.


I stumbled across a small streamer who is a part of a team of creators on Twitch.tv. I chatted in her comment section a lot and mentioned how I am a graphic design student so she asked to see some of my work. After sending some she then had the idea for me to make her some emotes that she can upload to her channel for subscribers to use and of course I couldn't turn the offer down. She is also very into art and drawing so I made just a standard emote of there and then one of her looking like an artist for when she does streams on that topic.


Not only this but she also asked for me to create a small logo for her stream that will sit on the screen while she is online.For this I wrote her name 'Erin Riley Maria' in a calligraphy font to make it look elegant and feminine, she also mentioned her favourite colour is teal so I made sure to make that the main colour for it. Another thing streamers need are subscription badges for the length of time someone has been a subscriber for so the badge will progress as the length of time grows. For this I just done her initial in a calligraphy style font to match the logo and had a glitter background to add to a clipping mask giving it something extra.


Erin mentioned the emotes I made to the other creators in the team and they have mentioned to me that they would also like some new emotes as their content has developed since they got their other ones so that is something I am looking forward to.


Much love,

Abs x

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page